[QUESTION] 3D printed Phase I Purge Trooper Commander Armor

Hello! I've recently acquired a Bambulab X1C + AMS unit and would love to begin work on a Phase I Purge Trooper Commander armor build. I have some questions before I get started:

- What kind of filament should I use? I read here that ABS is usually good for armor. Is PLA also a viable option?

- What are some recommended filament brands (if any)?

- Are there any 3D files online for the body armor that are 501st approved?

NOTE: I am completely new to costuming and would be very grateful for any advice you guys could give me.

• 2 weeks later...

Kyle,
Thanks for reaching out. I'll start with the files since I know the least about that.

You're essentially looking for realistic style clone trooper armor. When you start searching, you'll find a lot of options, but I would encourage you to stick to vendors that have been used by others to great success. The Galactic Armory makes good clone trooper armor that many people have been approved in. They also have a Purge Trooper helmet that looks good, but I would also encourage you to keep searching in the forum before you settle on anything.