Hey all! 

I am brand new to the 501st picture, and I want my first build to be my favorite trooper. I would love some help on getting started and some steps to take. I was curious where to start a WIP as well as where to look at them. I look forward to hearing from you all!

Hello Matthew! Welcome to SpecOps 😄

My first costume was (now my current and only costume) my Death Trooper and I'm happy to hopefully now be able to spread some information to someone who's in the exact same position I was in!

In terms of getting started, there's arguably 3 major components to the Death Trooper that I was looking it when I started and generally where someone starts. The Undersuit/Soft Goods, the Armor itself, and the Helmet. The first thing I would say to determine and launch off of is your budget and time you want to invest. There's some general outlines on how to go about this regarding budget which is what stage of the process you want to be in:

1. You can buy pretty much everything in a mostly finished form with some light assembly required
  2. You can buy unfinished or "raw" as it's referred to which means pieces that are already made like Armor for example that will need to be assembled, painted, etc.
  3. You can do everything from scratch

The Death Trooper is a fun build but something I don't think anybody here will tell you will be a short endeavor but that's part of it. She's a labor of love and it'll all be worth it! This subcategory in the forum actually has quite fantastic resources for building your armor which I'll link below here:

This a forum where vendors that sell Death Trooper parts can be found:

*Keep in mind however like it says in the thread that none of these vendors are officially endorsed by us but more directions you can take.

There's actually a really lovely FAQ on the Death Trooper put together that you can find here: