First costume and no idea where to begin

Sean Aviz

Hi there, I'm Sean and I'm completely new to world of costuming let alone the 501st!

I've done a good few months of reading the whitearmor/pathfinders forums and watching videos on how to get started and talked to my local garrison on who to contact and so here I am!

My first initial choice was a regular scout but I've only recently realized shadow scouts are also a viable option so might as well go big or go home! I did some surveying on possible

vendors and my initial plan is to buy the hard parts from RS Props and the soft parts from Imperial Boots but I would love to know more options if there are any. I'm not too sure on how 

I will spray paint them black and the add gloss over them or would it be easier to just get a black gloss spray paint as I am not too sure on the effect and never had the chance to know.

Anyways super nervous about this but I just want to thank you guys for helping people like me with their armor and I hope I will be able to get approved and start helping others!

Hello Sean and welcome!  Im glad you posted.  Do us a quick favor and make a post over in the Recruits topic.   

Scouts a great choice either as your first uniform, or fifth. In general they are fairly easy to build, you can move , sit, squat and run into trees all day long.   Since they are only half armored, they are a lot more comfortable to wear vs the other Troopers, other than say Pilots like Del Meeko. 

You will want to read the others' wip topics here to see how they did it but I know makers pull in black plastic. I could have sworn that Studio Creations pulled in black, but their website only lists white now.  Definitely reach out to Jeff at SC. I know a few weeks back I read that they had had some issues, mostly covid related.  I would definitely send Jeff an Email at their website.  Depending on where you are in the world, you may find a maker closer-and with shipping charges that would be considerably less.